Images   |   Core Data   |   Undo/Redo   |   Preferences   |   Reset iCloud

After every app version update, LD will check to see if you’re using iCloud sync. If you’re not, it will ask you if you want to. Even if you say no, you can always tap on the cloud button to turn on sync; all your device’s Plots will be absorbed into your iCloud database and copied to all your devices. You can also turn off syncing at any time and then turn it back on, and if your device cannot connect to the cloud, it will simply wait until it can to sync your changes.

When you first install LD or turn on iCloud, it may take a while for your new device to catch up to the rest of your devices; older devices may even crash a few times. Just be patient, relaunch LD, and trust that eventually it will be synced. Once the database is caught up, it takes much less time to keep it synced. For that reason, it’s best to turn iCloud on and off as infrequently as possible (ideally, never).

Images

When you render a Plot image on one device, that image will be synced to all the other devices that have that Plot. This way, you can render a larger image on an iPad, and still be able to send that image from your synced iPhone. If a Plot is edited and the render is skipped, LD will alert you that the image does not reflect the most recent changes, and will prompt you to open the Plot and render it. This image syncing also applies to Image Shapes.

Core Data

Lighting Designer uses Apple’s Core Data framework to store your data in a versatile database on your device. Syncing that database among multiple devices means pushing to the cloud a record of every change that’s made, then making the same changes on the other devices. LD uses Ensembles to perform this task.

Keep in mind that your database (containing all of the Shows and Plots you create) is stored locally on your device, not in the cloud. This means that if you sign out of your iCloud account, your database will remain on your device, so you cannot store different collections of Shows for different iCloud accounts. All the data on your device will sync with whichever iCloud account is signed in.

Because Core Data sync uses a third-party framework and not the native iCloud directory, LD will only sync database changes when it’s running, so you’ll see your most recent changes take effect when you first open the app. However, Plot and Shape images will sync continuously in the background.

Undo/Redo

Undo/Redo is managed on each device, not through iCloud. When updates are made through iCloud sync, they will be ignored by the undo manager; only changes made on your current device are undo-able.

Preferences

There are a number of preferences that you set, such as Snap, grid display, and units of measurement. Whenever you change these on one of your devices, it’ll sync to your other devices. Hopefully this will save a little time, especially when installing LD on a new device. A complete list of synced preferences is available on the Reference page.

Reset iCloud

If your sync is working incorrectly, or your app is crashing more frequently than usual for no apparent reason, it’s possible that syncing is encountering an error it cannot recover from. In this case, the best course of action is to reset your cloud files by using the Reset iCloud option. This deletes all change logs from the cloud and establishes a new baseline, effectively starting fresh so the problematic file is removed.

Note: the new baseline will be written from the device you use to Reset Cloud, so make sure you use that command from the device which has the latest version of your work. Otherwise, you’d be better off deleting LD from your device and re-installing it, and syncing your Shows from iCloud.

< Groups   |   FAQ >